Can I Get A Restricted License Or Hardship License After A DUI?
Often the penalty that people fear the most when receiving a DUI charge is a lengthy suspension on their driver’s license. Kansas has very harsh penalties that can be difficult to avoid, but the state has a mechanism in place to allow you to drive while serving out your suspension. The state will allow you modify your lengthy suspension and get you back behind the wheel with a restricted license. Here is how it works.
If you took the breath test, regardless of your BAC, the State will let you apply for the restricted license after 45 days of suspension if you put an ignition interlock device in your car.
If you refused the breath test, the State will let you apply for the restricted license after 90 days of suspension if you put the ignition interlock device in your car.
How can I get my ability to drive back as soon as possible?
- Serve Mandatory Suspension Period: If you have had your license suspended you must first wait the required period of time. (45 days for a failure, 90 for a refusal)
- Fill out a DC-1015 form. (Kansas Application to Modify Driver’s License Suspension)
- Get an Ignition interlock device installed in your Vehicle.
- Take the paperwork from the ignition interlock device company showing that you have it installed and the DC-1015 form to your local driver’s license office. They will reinstate your driving privileges that day. There are two locations in Johnson County:
For more information on Getting A Restricted License, a free initial consultation is your next best step. Get the information and legal answers you are seeking by calling (913) 451-9500 today.
Get your questions answered - call me for your free, 20-minute phone consultation (913) 451-9500.