What Kind Of Punishment Can A Person Get For Disorderly Conduct?
Disorderly conduct is a misdemeanor. In Kansas, there are four different groups of misdemeanor offenses. Kansas ranks these offenses in severity and the punishment that a person can receive depends on the severity of the crime in which they are convicted of. Below are the different groups and examples of crimes that fall into that group.
Class A Misdemeanor– This is the most serious group of misdemeanor crimes. They include: Theft less than $1000, Second Offense DUI, Second Offense Marijuana Possession, Battery on a law enforcement officer, et. cetera. Class A offenses carry with them a punishment range up to one year in jail.
Class B Misdemeanor– This is the second most serious group of misdemeanor crimes. They include Domestic Battery, DUI, Driving on a Suspended License, Marijuana Possession, Battery, et. cetera. Class B offenses carry with them up to 6 months in jail.
Class C Misdemeanor– This is the lowest level of misdemeanor crime. This is where disorderly conduct charges fall in the misdemeanor ranking system. Class C misdemeanor charges carry with them up to 30 days in jail.
Unclassified Misdemeanor– This is a group for misdemeanor charges that do not fall into any of the above classifications. Crimes that fall into these groups have their own proscribed punishment but they cannot exceed one year in jail.
If you are charged with disorderly conduct you are looking at a class C misdemeanor that carries with it up to 30 days in jail and up to a $500 fine. In general, most people that get a conviction for disorderly conduct either end up with a fine or a fine and probation. It is unusual for a person convicted of disorderly conduct to receive a jail sentence. One thing to remember when you are charged with disorderly conduct is that it is a crime. If you get convicted of disorderly conduct you will have a criminal record.
Get your questions answered - call me for your free, 20-minute phone consultation (913) 451-9500.